Autism, Asthma, Food Allergies, Eczema …

Autism is difficult enough when your child is diagnosed with it. Then you add the asthma, food allergies, and eczema. And a few other things. And oh boy!

My son didn’t understand his body’s signs and symptoms well enough to explain them. He would say my tummy hurts and grab his chest and cough.

And he never complained about things he ate until we took those things away and replaced with things he could eat. Such as removing cows milk. And replacing with rice milk. As he is also allergic to soy.

Well anyway one day he was eating his cereal with rice milk. And he blurts out. Mommy, why doesn’t this make me dizzy? I was shocked! So I asked more questions. How did you feel after you had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich? He says like my chest was having fireworks and I couldn’t swallow.

My sons autism has made it very difficult for him to read his body. As with social cues and idioms we’ve had to teach him how to listen to what his body is telling him.

Eczema comes and goes. But autism, food allergies and asthma are here to stay.

Thanks for reading my blog. Please leave a comment. Let me know what you thought.

