Diabetes the fight for health

Well today I ran into my favorite checker at the grocery store. Haven’t seen him since Halloween. I noticed he wasn’t getting around too great. I asked what did you do to yourself?

He replied I got my leg amputated. I said WHAT?! What happened? To which he replied I have diabetes and I didn’t control it. I said oh my gosh. I’m so sorry. He replied don’t be sorry. Its my stupidity and ignorance that got me here.

He’s 38 years old, African american. Great guy. So anyways I came home and did some research. Here is what I found.

11.5 million women age 20 and older are affected by diabetes. 10.2%
12 million men age 20 and older are affected. 11.2%
186,300 people under the age of 20 are affected.
12.2 million people over the age of 60 are affected.
4.9 million African Americans are affected. 18.7%
2.5 million Hispanic/Latino are affected 9.5%
14.9 million Caucasian s are affected. 9.8%

Diabetes costs $116 billion annually in direct medical costs.
Diabetes costs $58 billion annually in indirect costs (loss of work).

Please get your labs done when your doctor asks. Please take care of yourselves. Like my friend said its stupidity and ignorance that got him there.

Take good care of your body. You only have one. And as he learned a valuable lesson. Not all things can be fixed.

Thanks for stopping by…

One thought on “Diabetes the fight for health

Thanks for reading my blog. Please leave a comment. Let me know what you thought.

